The Red Thread of Fate

I have just watched the first episode of the television series called “TOUCH” in which the East Asian belief originating from Chinese legend, “the red thread of fate” was mentioned. It is also referred to as the “red string of fate“, “red thread of destiny“, and other variants is also used both in Chinese and Japanese legend.

“According to this myth, the gods tie an invisible red string around the ankles of those that are destined to be soul mates and will one day marry each other. The two people connected by the red thread are destined loversregardless of time, place, or circumstancesAnd this magical cord may stretch or tangle, but never break.”

Although the reference of this myth, similar to the Western belief as being soul mate, soul twin of each other, is quite interesting; I think I have lost my faith as long as I grow up and I am not able to see the life through the rose-coloured glasses anymore.

I think it is sad.

We have fairy tales to tell our children, but how come? Maybe we should have learned how to stay as a child just to believe it without questioning that much.

After all everyone, even though they are grown up like me, they do dream, they may want to believe in the presence of those red threads of fate.

I hope the fairy tales come true and I would be wrong.

London, 27.01.2012, Friday; 02.40

*sources:

wikipedia

touch series season 1 episode 1

Leave a Reply

